hotpot for four

img_3735steamboatmontage

Hotpot for four!

Foodie culture is big in Singapore. For this Foodie Bunny, it’s an amazing wonderland.

I braved the crazy weekend crowds for this yummy meal. Thinking I’d be clever, I wandered off ahead, and managed to get very lost. Never dive into a buzzing throng of human bodies if you have no firm idea where your destination is. Fortunately, I am not afraid to ask for directions. Unfortunately, it didn’t occur to me to do so until I was in the opposite end of the huge shopping mall. Found my way at last, and the feasting began.

Hotpot, or “steamboat” as it is called in Singapore, for four. Two pots of bubbling herbal soup, and an assortment of seafood, thinly sliced meats, and veggies. I especially loved the crispy salmon skin, soy bean-curd rolls and seaweed crusted tofu cubes. In this restaurant, after making our orders, we help ourselves to the drinks and condiments counter. I made myself a bowl of thick sesame dipping sauce, with garlic and chilli. I think I was a little too enthusiastic there, but it tasted pretty good anyway.

Sensory overload – the good part was the food, of course, but the headache-inducing noise, crowd and terribly loud music once outside in the mall area meant that I had to head home pretty quickly. Thankfully, no bus or taxi to queue for: my brother-in-law is the patient and long-suffering family chauffeur.

After the months of sensory hell, this is pretty much bliss. The one blot on the merry landscape is the absence of my baby girl. I really miss Lucy…

2 thoughts on “hotpot for four

    • I’d love to get my hands on one of those noise-cancelling headphones. A good set is expensive, though. I bought some earbuds that claimed to filter out certain frequencies and still allow the wearer to hear the basic ‘happenings’ around, but they hurt my ears (skin sensitivity, believe or not!) and I couldn’t wear them. 😛

Leave a Reply

