Autistic Academic on Acceptance, Love, and Self-Care: #AutismPositivity2015

An honest and insightful revelation of the very real struggles faced by individuals on the autism spectrum functioning within contrasting juxtaposed domains.

Autistic Academic

autismpositivity2015button

Yesterday, I gave the first academic conference presentation of my career: a paper on narratives of cognitive/developmental difference vs “monstrous”/changeling difference in late antiquity and the Middle Ages.*  You can check out the livetweeting from it here.

Overall, the talk went well and seemed to be very well-received.  The Q&A session immediately following was very productive, from my point of view, and I had several people thank and/or congratulate me over the course of the day – not just people who knew it was my first talk and were offering support, but also people I’d never met before who were responding to the content.

And, as has become my norm in any setting where I’m talking about autism, I told them I was autistic.

I always wonder what people think when I disclose in an academic setting.  No doubt some of them think I’m either “surprisingly articulate for an autistic”…

View original post 575 more words

Leave a Reply

