Happy New Year!

IMG_0126w

2014 was a difficult year. The seed was planted by a Random Act of Kindness, which saw the Nightmare House Guest from the Deepest Bowels of Hell moving into my home, tunneling her way through the soft, gentle soil of my life-space with focused sociopathic purpose. The aftermath was horrific. My clean orderly surrounds turned into a sewer of filth and stink, and the atmosphere was filled with loud, screeching – the smelly lorikeet’s ear piercing cries by day, and its owner’s crass swearing by night. Yes, she would swear and scream at the bird for hours every night, while professing how much she loved her bird to everyone who had ears to hear, as well as on social media. The greatest tragedy of all that this woman brought about was that one innocent dog suffered immeasurable agony and lost a leg, a very decent charity was cheated of money that was raised online in their name (the woman pocketed the money), and my life was tossed into a rusty rickety wagon and set upon a crazy roller coaster track.

There were good things, wonderful things, in fact, that came from the grief, however, and 2014 will be for me a memory of juxtapositions. Conniving evil and gentle grace.

What initially was promised as a two week stay unfolded into months, when that woman refused to leave. We eventually had to move out in a hurry, to save myself from diving headlong into breakdown. At our new premises, we met new friends and good people who helped make our stay bearable, lent us support when we needed it, and at other times, they were just there, and that was clemency enough.

Winter turned into spring, and when the angry birds began to viciously attack Lucy every time we stepped outside our cramped little abode, and the resident Unhappy Door Slammer started to shake the very foundations of our gentle sonic sphere, I knew it was time to move on again. I yearned to be back in our old neighbourhood, I needed and wanted so very much to just get back on track with my work, but I did not believe it possible. Yet, grace prevailed, and a wonderful friend provided the wisdom, advice, and means to bring us back to our beloved Paddo.

In the meantime, I was working on my exhibition. There were many who lent their hands to build the work, and to them, I am most grateful.

IMG_9519exhibition

Once back in the neighbourhood we both love so much, we reconnected with old friends, and made new ones. Lucy is truly Like a Charm!

One of the new friends we’ve made is now sitting at my feet, finding solace and comfort from the noise of the fireworks. While her mum and dad enjoy the pomp and ceremony by the harbour, I am having a wonderful time babysitting the sweetheart, ringing in the New Year with the neighbourhoods’ two most beautiful canine personalities! ā¤

IMG_0619sleepover s

Happy New Year, everyone! May 2015 bring new joy, good health, inspiration, love, friendship and yes, the completion of my PhD dissertation! Go, Bunny and Lucy, go!

IMG_0339lucyhappy

8 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Happy New Year to you too!

    Winter turned into spring, and when the angry birds began to viciously attack Lucy every time we stepped outside our cramped little abode,

    Was it magpies?

    • Thanks, Anna!

      Yes it was magpies and also the mynahs. Vicious things, though I don’t blame them. They probably saw Lucy as a threat, and since there were no other dogs around, she was the target.

      • Magpies tend to have a “no trespassing zone” in a parameter around their nest (as far as I remember only 50 – 100 meters or so) in the breeding season where they attack, attacks can usually be avoided by staying out of their territories but the problem is of course when their territory is in a place one has to pass through. I was attacked (swooped and hit on my head) by magpies several times near where we lived in Maroubra, and still feel paranoid if I hear a magpie “warcry” or something similar near me … I like them anyway though. They are not vicious, just territorial and protective of their babies, and can have very inflexible territorial rules such as “no pedestrians allowed”, “no cyclist allowed”, “no dogs”, “no kids”, “no brown-haired, tall men with glasses”, or no specific people, dogs, or vehicle types et.c. (many tend to be particularly mad at posties.) I kind of like their strong characters, intelligence and fixed ideas.

        Mynahs tend to be very aggressive towards other birds (I often see them chase/bully other species of birds, even big ravens), but I haven’t heard about Mynah attacks on dogs and people… that sounds a bit scary, since they are everywhere.

        I’ve had a problem with a local hawk attacking me and my dog on our then daily runs through a park. Long after the incidents the dog still panicked when hearing the particular call preceding the attacks and similar bird sounds. Unlike magpies that only attack within their territory, this one actually attacked in different places in the neighbourhood not just the park, which was scary because no place seemed totally safe, and because it seemed to ignore other people and dogs and target particularly my dog and me for some reason.

      • Yes, I know they are only protecting their nests, and so were the mynahs, but unfortunately, we couldn’t avoid them, as they were everywhere – every single tree along every pathway. Lucy became so paranoid, she did not want to step out of the building. It was time to leave. We are happy now, back in our old neighbourhood. šŸ™‚ We love Paddington!

Leave a Reply

