Being tired is not the same as fatigue.

Another piercingly sharp insight from Amanda Baggs about chronic illness. I couldn’t have said it better. Yes, I am often tired and exhausted from sensory overload, but I am perpetually fatigued from lifelong autoimmune pain. There is indeed a huge difference!

Ballastexistenz

Being tired, even being exhausted, is not the same as the kind of fatigue that people with chronic illnesses are dealing with day to day. And I knew this, intellectually. But after going on steroids to treat adrenal insufficiency, and getting some stamina back, it’s like a revelation.

I haven’t really had much in the way of clinical fatigue since I got on steroids. I only feel it on my bad days, and my bad days aren’t all that bad compared to how they used to be.

I do get tired. I get exhausted. But even at my most exhausted it’s not the same.

Fatigue, when talking about in a medical sense, is more than exhaustion. It’s a sense that everything is drained from your body. You don’t just feel tired, you feel sick. Your body doesn’t work right.

I wish I could just upload the feeling into people’s heads…

View original post 227 more words

Leave a Reply

