back to basics

Rice is a basic staple food in most of Asia. I never did like rice very much, until I moved to Sydney, and then I suddenly find that I am hankering for it. Strange, how one’s senses search the gustatory and olfactory landscape for what is familiar and perceptions become altered as a result of situational changes.

I baked two lamb forequarter slices, and indulged my yearning for rice. Red, brown and white. And guess what, my little experiment with growing spring onions in a glass worked! It lacks the powerful punch of the store bought ones but it is ever so much fun to eat something one has grown yourself, innit? Miam! (Yup, red capsicums were on special at Aldi last week!)

Leave a Reply

