temperature sensitivity

enjoying the good life!

enjoying the good life!

sunshine gal

sunshine gal

My girl loves the sunshine. Whenever I feel burdened by the amount of work I have to do to make this house more inhabitable and the financial struggle that I have to go through, I just walk outside into the backyard and soak in the sunshine with my Princess, and I know I have to keep going – it’s worth it. For her. For me. For us both. I love our backyard, and I look forward to having more time to enjoy it.

But this brings me back to the topic of temperature sensitivity in people with hypersensitivity issues. For me, this anomaly seems to have become more severe with age. Winters in Sydney are really very mild, and this year, apart from the two weeks of incessant rain and freezing temperatures when I first moved into this house, it has been rather warm. However, the numbers do not reflect how each of our bodies experience and react to the changes in humidity, light and temperature.

How does this translate into semantic description? I am not sure. It is a little like Synaesthesia, how does one really describe it to another person who has never experienced anything similar? Anyhow, let’s give it a try.

Wet and damp trigger a sensation of dirty, muddy water seeping through every pore in the body and slowly flooding the veins, and brings on a sensation of dull throbbing pervading pain, which cannot be specifically located.

Lack of natural light creates a sensation of depression and mental lethargy, tinged with anger and frustration because the body just doesn’t seem to respond properly. It is as if one is locked inside a dark dream where sounds are muffled and movement is slowed, and there is no way to break free.

As for temperature, well, it varies, and usually combines with humidity in effect and affect. When it is hot and humid, nausea is triggered. Lethargy too, and aching muscles. It is much more comfortable when hot and dry, all I need to do is stay indoors, and maybe have a fan going and drink a lot of cold liquids. Humidity and cold is the very worst. And I don’t mean the extreme cold either. Just anything below 20 C! When it is wet and cold, my entire body goes into a state of constant, violent ‘shuddering’ – not shivering, which is different, mind you. And the aching throbbing pain begins inside the core, as if emanating from the marrow and reverberating outwards. When it is dry and cold, the sensation is more straight forward: just pain. Shooting, stabbing, biting, cutting pain – usually going through the head, and extremities. The torso is less affected.

It was sunny and dry today. It has been lovely weather for weeks now. Outdoors, temperature was around 22 C. Lovely. But once inside this old draughty house, the stabbing pain is triggered. Right now, as I type this, my feet are in pain, they feel as if they are being frozen into ice blocks, and my heading feels like it is being chiseled open. And it is warm, really, around 17 C now.

Oh, and proprioceptive function is affected by all the above.

Yes, I do get a lot of stupid comments like, “So you think that is cold? Wait till you live in Canada!” Or the cluelessly insensitive and unhelpful ‘suggestions’ about heating etc, all of which I cannot afford. Advocacy is an uphill climb. But this AspieBunny will keep going, even though there are times I just want to throw in the towel and go off into my own Lalaland, and never have to speak to another insensitive neurtoypical person ever again. That will not happen. Just sometimes… one does feel… weary. Still, if the message gets across to one person out of every 100 that I speak to, it is still worth the effort!

Leave a Reply

