bread-less breaka

I do love breakfast. And I like our routine. Lucy loves her breakfast too, it is the larger meal of the day. Her dinner is a smaller portion.

Well, it doesn’t matter all that much what I eat for breakfast, which is usually at around 6am (after our early morning walk), I become ravenously hungry by about 11am anyway. This morning, I had run out of bread. Yes, I am not ashamed to say I have been surviving on the horrible Cole’s $1 sandwich bread – and yes, it is not gourmet fare, but it will do. Cutting one’s clothes according to one’s cloth is taking on a very vivid meaning indeed. Anyhow, I still enjoy my meals. I used what I could find in the fridge: bacon, egg, cheese, tinned tomatoes. The drink du jour is always the same, of course. Aspies need routine, a lot of routine. Coffee with chocolate or milo, depending on which is cheaper at the time.

(I discovered breakfast is called ‘breaky’ here in Australia (well, that’s what my Aussie friends call it) but I call it ‘breaka’ the way some Brits say it. Regardless, it’s always a delicious affair!)

2 thoughts on “bread-less breaka

  1. There’s something to be said for going a little breadless now and then. We try to go grain less during the week (Mrs P cheats at work though when she goes out to lunch with her mates) and I’ve been enjoying it. I’ve been eating a lot more potato and although it’s not bread, I do like what it brings to the party besides being cheaper by weight.

  2. Funny that you mentioned this wheat thing. I do think eating less wheat does help my digestion in general, even though I am not exactly gluten intolerant. Bread just seems a lazy easy filler. But yes, thanks for the tip on potato – cheaper by weight indeed – but problem with this foodie is that I tend to eat a lot of everything anyway!

Leave a Reply

