light green

light green…

This morning, I received a piece of good news. I feel a great sense of relief, that one issue on the list of things to be resolved is now dealt with. A positive outcome is always welcome too!

So, for lunch, I am indulging in a huge helping of spaghetti and minced beef on a bed of lettuce leaves. The last minced beef patty was used for the tomato based sauce, and the last few leaves of lettuce formed the base. Dressing is the same old mustard, flaxseed oil and soy sauce mixture – us Aspies seldom deviate too far from our routines and habits.

Light green. That is the general colour of this meal. And the colour of relief, to me.

On the subject of colour, here’s yet another musing set off by my beautiful black velvet furred Lucy:

Every single animal welfare and adoption group has conveyed the same message about black animals – that they are the least wanted, and most difficult ones to find adoption for. It is surprising to me, and others who adore animals, of course, but I wonder why the majority of people who want to adopt pets (this puts them in a more kindly category does it not?) shy away from black ones? I have also been told, too often, that black dogs and cats are favourite victims of extremely cruel abuse and yes, even witchcraft activities.

Why is colour so fundamentally important to humans? On the one hand, there are these ‘statistics’ coming from every single welfare and adoption group I know, about black being the least desirable colour, and then on the other hand, I know people who actually prefer black.

Colour has much to do with sensory perception, but it is closely connected with and interwoven into the fabric social perceptions.

As for me, I never chose, I just took whoever needed me, thinking I was doing the dog a favour, but I know now, she is the one who has done me the favour instead. She has become my companion, comfort, social facilitator and fitness trainer all in one. And the bonus is that she is beautiful in every way. Even when she first arrived, skinny as all racing greyhounds tend to be, and her coat dull with flaky skin and bald patches, especially at the rump areas, she had a regal poise to her that made her stand out from among the many other wonderful dogs I have ever known. Well, a lot of fussing, reading about the peculiarities of greyhound skin and fur, and Omega oils later, her coat is sleek, smooth, velvety and glossy black.

glossy black beauty

Everyone in the neighbourhood tells me how beautiful she is, even strangers (well, they all began as strangers, of course) and little children. The very little ones gurgle with delight when they first feel her, I’ve heard so many surprised squeals declaring how soft and smooth she is. Honest, immediate haptic impressions. And the black colour contrasts ever so beautifully with her deeply soulful and glowing amber eyes.

Leave a Reply

