heatwave

I was quite glad that Sydney escaped the first bit of the Aussie heatwave, but today, we were hit with 41C – sizzle sizzle! Here is the latest update from the ABC heatwave tracker page (it is updated every few hours).

heatwave tracker

heatwave tracker

The bureau of meteorology has raised the maximum temperature to above 50C to adjust to the expected extreme heat. Check this out – a screen capture from their website.

new temperature map for Australia

new temperature map for Australia

Well, my tiny shoe box apartment does not have any airconditioning. I didn’t think it would matter much, but now I see why my Aussie friends were aghast when they heard I didn’t have one! It was baking hot. Frankly, I am ok, just very very tired and my eyes are smarting from the dry heat and the smoke from the bush fires blowing in from afar. But Lucy has been suffering all day, and we are warned that it isn’t going to ease up until after midnight. Poor Princess!

I had a light breakfast of cheese on vegemite toast and nutella on toast, with iced Coffee-Milo. It was already getting rather hot at 6.30am.

light breakfast

light breakfast

By lunchtime, it was above 40C, and scorching. I had a cold lunch. A cold chicken thigh baked yesterday, lettuce leaves, sliced peach and tomatoes.

cold lunch

cold lunch

As for poor little Lucy Princess, I sponged, and wiped and stroked her with a cold wet towel and an ice pack every hour, throughout the day. She was most miserable, and because she hates water, I couldn’t get her to lie in the bathroom, nor could I persuade her to allow me to shower her. I let her have the fan directed at her, while I just sat beside, forgoing the luxury. She needed it much more than I did. I did enjoy a few cold showers and that helped to cool me down.

Here she is, trying her best to cool down, with her mum’s emergency equipment on her heaving chest!

hot dog heatwave!

hot dog heatwave!

Yes, yes, I finally ordered an evaporation cooler fan for Lucy, because the forecast is for another heatwave coming up. I cannot afford a portable air conditioner, so that was the best I could do. I do hope it would help, and please send it along QUICKLY!!! It’s so distressing to see my Princess so miserable.

 

 

5 thoughts on “heatwave

    • Yes it is rather tough going. My problem is that my landlady did tell me the flat comes without air con and I said ok, so it is my own fault I kust didn’t realise it would be this bad, and I didn’t know I would have Lucy at the tome. My landlady is actually really rather woeful, very kind, so I don’t want to fuss, and in any case I did say it was ok. Silly me!

Leave a Reply

