therapy

Cooking is therapeutic, just as walking Lucy is, but in different ways. While cooking, my mind is usually away somewhere musing on all kinds of things – ideas, images, random snippets of thoughts and words etc – while my hands are involved in haptic play. When I am with Lucy out walking, I listen to the sounds our feet / paws make, I smell the trees and foliage, I look out for glass on the ground and holes and grates because I don’t want Lucy to tread on them, I observe her walk, trot and gait to make sure she is fine, I become aware of my own body and proprioceptive motion, and I talk to myself and Lucy.

I do think the walking has done me a world of good – I feel stronger, stamina has increased and my joints are less arthritic. I just hate it when it rains, especially in the winter when it is cold. But the weather is lovely in the summer, most of the time anyway. And Lucy loves her walks, though she doesn’t like to go on for too long, which is fine by me. We usually walk for a solid 40 minutes every morning, sometimes one hour.

Lucy likes staring at the swans

Lucy likes staring at the swans

the swans at the park

the swans at the park

reflected symmetry

reflected symmetry

the grazing Ibis

the grazing Ibis

Leave a Reply

