simple breakfast pleasures

Lucy wakes me up a little past 5am every morning. She starts with a little shuffling in bed, then a tiny wee whine, and I usually reach out to stroke her at this stage, because I am actually already awake by then but just lazing in bed for a bit longer. If I fail to stroke her head at this point, she will give a little whine that sounds like a “woooo”, and if I still ignore that, she will bark at me. She has different kinds of bark, and this one is a high pitched ‘baby Grey bark’, it sounds unlike any other doggy bark I have heard before (and I have lived with many different kinds of doggies), again, more a “wooo” than a “woof”. Makes me think of sponge roll with raspberry filling!

We play for a bit in bed, she bounces around with her big teddy (a gift from my sister) and places her paws on me – she is heavy but I like the feel of her weight on me, so long as she is not rough, and most times she is quite gentle. When she gets a bit too bouncy, I will tell her, “gently, please” and she calms down. Then we set off for her first early morning walk and for her pee and poo rituals.

By the time we get home, it is around 6am, and we are both hungry! She gets her kibble, carrots, Omega 3 capsule, tuna and yoghurt, and I prepare my breakfast while she watches. Breakfast is usually simple, making use of whatever is around in the fridge and kitchen, but quite robust. And pleasurable, because I love the early mornings. Lucy and I are creatures of routine, she being a doggy and Greyhounds love routine, and me being Aspie – and we both love the simple pleasures!

Here two samples of recent breakfasts.

bacon, sunnyside up, and the last two pieces of bread!

bacon, sunnyside up, and the last two pieces of bread!

no more bread, so I had salad with bacon and tomatoes

no more bread, so I had salad with bacon and tomatoes

Leave a Reply

