painting on the sky

Sunset Over Paddington (20120527)

sunset over Paddinton 20120527

I never get tired of looking at my little piece of sky from the window as I work. It is a sensory smorgasbord every time I look, it changes and transforms, even on a rainy, grey day, there are subtle hues and stroke-like washes that the eye can see but my little camera just cannot capture.

And the mental association, the memory recall, is always the song from the Barbra Streisand movie, Yentl, “A Piece of Sky”. Yes, I do know that Streisand altered the original story quite a bit (to suit her), but in my mind, it was one of the most impact-ful movies in my life. I was a young person at the time, grappling with my (undiagnosed) neurodiversity, daring to dream and paying a price for it. The song and theme inspired me, I was captivated by the idea of Yentl as the ‘outsider’, having to act a role, make compromises, devise strategies and make the ultimate sacrifice, because this was the only way she could achieve the learning and knowledge she so desired. (Right, Mandy Patinkin was really super sexy, but honestly, Avigdor was incidental, sort of a trigger piece and nothing more to me). It’s been a long road indeed, but I am here now, and although the concepts, narratives and music of this movie no longer reverberate with the same intensity for me, I still listen to the songs every now and then, admiring the beauty of wordplay, instrumentation and thematic development in the music.

Today, the sky was telling me once more about how amazing this part of my wonderful journey is. It is, on its own, just a piece of sky, but because I have travelled along the decades of learning and discovery, I know now that this piece of sky is part of a very very huge infinity of wonder. My piece of sky is part of a larger entity. Ablaze. Yes, it is.

[This one is for my friend, Kateryna.]

 

Here is Babs in Yentl, “A Piece of Sky”… (oh, the timpani – breathtaking painting indeed!) And, papa, this is for you too.

One thought on “painting on the sky

  1. Reblogged this on bunnyhopscotch and commented:

    Four years ago, on this day… the cosmos sent me a beautiful painterly sky… Now, four years later, I have handed in my PhD dissertation, I have a beautiful Canine Angel by my side, and I am responsible for her until her last breath… Amazing what happens when one reaches for that small piece of sky! I think of my father every day, and today, I wonder again, “Papa, can you hear me?”

Leave a Reply

